Our Community

The Governing Body

The Local Governing Body is a body of people appointed to work in St Matthew’s and to manage the school on behalf of Chester Diocesan Academies Trust (CDAT). The Principal is accountable to the Local Governing Body and the Local Governing Body is accountable to CDAT.

The role of the Local Governing Body is to provide strategic management and to support the work of the Principal and other staff in school. The Principal of the school is responsible for the day-to-day management of the school.

The LGB monitors the school’s progress and is responsible for ensuring the children of St Matthew’s get the best education possible. This includes holding the Principal to account for effective teaching and learning across the school and managing the budget to support this.

The Local Governing Body at St Matthew’s is made up of two committees that have clear terms of reference and powers delegated as appropriate for their areas of responsibility. All committees, along with the whole LGB, are tasked with ensuring the Christian ethos of the school is developed and forms the basis of all their work.

Members of the Local Governing Body

Helen Wetherall (Chair)

Rev David Brewster (Chair Faith and Community)

Charles Daniels (Interim Principal)

Carole Owen

Jim Caulfield

Lois Haslam

Alan Hodgkinson

Kenneth Hazeldine

Beth Beecher (Staff Governor)

Leah Taylor (Parent Governor)




Judith Castledine (Clerk to the Governing Body)

The Principal sits on both committees and is a member of the LGB.

Files to Download