The Governing Body

The Local Governing Body is a body of people appointed to work in St Matthew’s and to manage the school on behalf of Chester Diocesan Academies Trust (CDAT). The Headteacher is accountable to the Local Governing Body and the Local Governing Body is accountable to CDAT.

The role of the Local Governing Body is to provide strategic management and to support the work of the Headteacher and other staff in school. The Headteacher is responsible for the day-to-day management of the school.

The Local Governing Body monitors the school’s progress and is responsible for ensuring the children of St Matthew’s get the best education possible. This includes holding the Headteacher to account for effective teaching and learning across the school and managing the budget to support this.

Members of the Local Governing Body

Helen Wetherall (Chair)

Stephen Murphy (Headteacher)

Rev David Brewster (Chair)

Jim Caulfield 

Alan Hodgkinson

Kenneth Hazeldine

Beth Beecher (Staff Governor)

Leah Taylor (Parent Governor)


Ed Salter (Clerk to the Governing Body)


Files to Download